Don’t write your to-do list at the start of the day, write it at the end of the day

We all know it’s essential to “make a list and put it in order”.  But it also matters when you make the list.

A lot of people start their day by making a to-do list, then get every item checked off as done over the course of the day.  So far, so good.

But even better is to make your list at the end of the working day, when there’s less pressure from urgency, and when the issues are still fresh in your active memory.

According to Edwin Bliss

Spend the last few minutes of each working day preparing your list for the next morning.

He says it’s the #1 time management recommendation of successful executives.

Motion

More blog entries about Effectiveness.

2 Comments

  1. This is a great practice. I often jot down my top 3-5 on a pad next to my bed and it allows me to relax and go to sleep. When I wake up in the morning I have a short list I can start working.

    Like

Tell me (anonymous OK)